2015 CoGEA Award Nominations

Nominations due: May 1 to Suzanne Mattingly, CoGEA Liaison at smattingly@aaanet.org

The CoGEA Award (formerly known as the Squeaky Wheel Award), sponsored by the AAA Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology (CoGEA), recognizes individuals whose service to the discipline, and collective spirit of whose research, teaching and mentoring, demonstrates the courage to bring to light and investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially sexist and discriminatory based on gender presentation.

Historically this award has honored those who have acted to raise awareness of women’s contributions to anthropology, worked to identify barriers to full participation by women in anthropology, or helped to bring about significant shifts in intellectual paradigms through their anthropological research on women’s lives.

The CoGEA Award now has an even broader scope.  In addition to honoring scholars who work against discrimination against women in anthropology the committee is interested in honoring feminist scholars who work to raise awareness of discrimination in anthropology on grounds of gender presentation of any kind. Recent past winners include Barbara Voorhies, Mary Ann Levine, Elizabeth Brumfiel, Laura Nader, and Constance Sutton.

The committee seeks nominations for scholars and practitioners from all subfields of anthropology, at stages ranging anywhere from promising mid-career to proven late-career, who have acted to improve the status of those discriminated against on the basis of sex or gender identity in anthropology through:

  • Mentorship of colleagues and students
  • Research that directly addresses gender roles, situations of gender bias, and experiences of gender discrimination in anthropology
  • Scholarship on women or gender that has influenced shifts in anthropological theory
  • The development of policies, procedures, or other professional standards that alleviate gender inequalities in the field of anthropology

Nominations should include the name, affiliation and title of the individual being nominated, a one-or two-paragraph description of the reason for the nomination, a statement on the nature of the person’s contribution to the improvement of the status of women and/or any persons discriminated again on grounds of gender presentation or gender identity in anthropology, and a copy of the nominee’s CV.  Please include the name, address, phone number and email address of the nominator. Check the AAA website to see if the person has already won the award.

Nominators may be contacted for additional material concerning finalists.  Self nominations are not accepted.  Nominators may be AAA members, non-AAA members, and those working outside the discipline of anthropology. Proposed candidates must be a current AAA member and registered to attend the 2015 AAA Meetings in Denver, CO. The award will be presented during the AAA Awards Ceremony, and it is critical that the selected recipient of the award be present for the honor.

Nominations should be sent by May 1 to Suzanne Mattingly, CoGEA Liaison at smattingly@aaanet.org.  Awardees and nominators will be notified by July 1.